When I was cooking steak the other day, I had to use a meat thermometer to check and see if the meat was cooked all the way through.

In other words, I had to look for an indicator to see how the cooking process was coming along.

营销is fairly similar.

作为营销人员,您将使用关键性能指标(KPI)来衡量成功。

Below, let's learn more about KPIs and review some examples of marketing KPIs that can help you improve your marketing.

Click here to download 8 free marketing budget templates.

Essentially, KPIs are measurable metrics that gauge overall performance over time. A great way to analyze and report on your KPIs is to create customdashboardsin your automation software.

因此,现在我们了解了KPI是什么,让我们看一些示例。

For today's purposes, we'll focus on marketing KPIs, but to learn more about sales metrics, check out ourultimate guide.

1. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

Customer acquisition cost(CAC) measures the amount of money it takes to convert a potential lead into a customer.

该指标可用于改善营销,因为它可以帮助您做出重要的预算决策。

For example, you don't want to spend too much money acquiring a customer if it won't result in a profit. Basically, this helps businesses decide how much money to spend on attracting customers.

2. Lifetime Value of a Customer (LTV)

Another metric that can help determine how much money to spend on marketing is thelifetime value of a customer. This metric indicates the total amount of revenue a business can expect to make from a single customer.

This is a useful metric to compare to CAC. For example, if your CAC is higher than your LTV, then you're probably spending too much money acquiring your customers.

3. Return on Investment (ROI)

Return on investmentin marketing refers to the amount of money you gain compared to the marketing cost.

为了计算这一点,您将从销售增长中减去营销费用,然后除以营销成本以获取投资回报。

In marketing, keep in mind that it can be hard to directly attribute sales growth to a marketing campaign. If that's the case, you can subtract your average organic sales growth and marketing cost from your sales growth and then divide it by your marketing cost.

4. Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)

Return on ad spendis a more specific KPI that you can use to determine the success of your ad campaigns.

这个指标措施产生的收入compared to every dollar you spend on an advertising campaign. It's usually a ratio.

For example, let's say you made $10 for every $1 spent on an advertising campaign. That means your ROAS for that campaign is 10:1.

5. Marketing Qualified Leads (MQL)

AnMQLis a lead that has engaged with your company and could become a more serious prospect if you nurture that relationship.

This is a great KPI to measure because it helps your marketing team understand how many leads they're bringing in.

Additionally, when compared to sales qualified leads (见下文), your marketing team can measure how many MQLs become SQLs and then customers.

6.销售合格的潜在客户(SQL)

If an MQL is nurtured correctly, then eventually they become asales qualified lead. An SQL is a prospective customer that's ready to talk to someone on your sales team.

Usually, these leads have been researched and vetted by your marketing department.

Again, this KPI is helpful because it can help your marketing team understand how many of their leads are talking to your sales team.

7. Follower Growth

As a marketer, one of your duties might be to manage social media accounts for your company. If you work on the social team, a helpful KPI to track is follower growth.

Most likely one of the goals of your social media team is to increase brand awareness and interact with your audience. Increasing your followers is a great way to measure success for those goals.

To grow your follower base, you might consider running sponsored campaigns.一个品牌在4天内每天增加了36倍的追随者数量,在Instagram上运行了一套赞助帖子,将其追随者数量增加了18.15%。.

8. Conversion Rate

兑换率is the percentage of visitors who complete a desired action. The desired action could be anything from completing an online form to signing up for a service or purchasing a product.

This is a helpful KPI to track because it can let you know how successful you are at attracting leads.

For example, if the desired action was filling out a web form, measuring your conversion rate could let you know that your web page isn't converting many leads. If that's the case, then you could start to rethink your strategy.

9. Website Visitors

As a marketer, attracting people to your company is the main goal. A great way to do that is to attract website visitors.

网站访客是一个顽童ortant KPI because it could track the success of several campaigns.

For instance, if you're tracking organic web traffic, then you'll be measuring the effectiveness of your SEO team.

On the other hand, if you're tracking web visitors from social media, then you could use web visitors to see how many referrals your social team sends to your site.

10. Social Media Engagement

Not to reiterate, but a major role in marketing is social media. One of the main KPIs for social media is engagement.

You could track likes, shares, comments, messages, tags, or mentions. Any way that a customer or lead is interacting with you, you can count as engagement.

Measuring engagement can help you analyze the success of your social media posts.

11. Referral Traffic

Referral traffic is a KPI that can help you understand where your web visitors are coming from.

This is a great KPI to track because it helps you understand how most people find your company. This could be useful information when building your overall marketing strategy.

12. Net Promoter Score (NPS)

Net Promoter Score是衡量客户满意度的一种方式。该KPI衡量了您的客户向朋友推荐您的业务的可能性。

When you calculate your NPS, you'll most likely leave additional space for comments. This metric can give you direct, actionable feedback and insights from your customers.

As a marketer, it's important to listen to your customers and truly understand them. This KPI will help you do that.

13. Organic Traffic

衡量SEO努力的成功很重要。为此,您可能会跟踪自然流量和关键字性能的KPI。

With an SEO tool, you can see how well your company is ranking on search engines for certain keywords.

This KPI will inform your overall organic and SEO strategy.

14. Event Attendance

As a marketer, you'll have KPIs for every campaign you're operating.

If you're running an event, for example, then you'll most likely track event attendance. This KPI will let you know how well your marketing team did at attracting people to your event.

15. Customer Retention

While you might think customer retention isn't a marketing KPI, it actually is important to consider.

客户保留是跟踪营销人员的绝佳KPI,因为您可以将消息传递中的信息用于营销活动。

Additionally, this metric helps you better understand your customers, so you can market to them better.

Ultimately, KPIs are important because they're how you measure success as a marketer. You'll use KPIs in almost every situation because you're going to need to track success for short and long term campaigns.

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Originally published Sep 15, 2020 5:45:00 PM, updated June 10 2021

Topics:

营销Reporting Business Insights