Do you know how many customers you lose every year? How about every month?

Customer churn, or customer turnover, refers to the number of customers you’re losing in a predetermined time period. Churn rate is a scary metric. It’s also an incredibly important one.

如果您不知道有多少客户要离开业务,那么您将不知道它如何影响您的收入 - 并且您将无法制定改进计划来降低营业额。

→ Download Now: Customer Service Metrics Calculator [Free Tool]

The problem is that it’s difficult to calculate and remedy customer churn. Not to worry. In this post, we’ll cover everything you need to know about churn rate, including:

让我们开始吧。

对于客户经常付款的公司(例如SaaS或其他基于订阅的公司)而言,Churn Faite是非常重要的指标。无论您的每月收入如何客户获取成本(CAC), you're in trouble.

You find out how many people churned using aCRM。The software you sell may also have a built-in subscriber count that shows you how many users you had at the beginning of a time period and how many users you had at the end.

If that math is as intimidating to you as it is for me, you can use a tool that automatically calculates churn rate. Let's explore one of those tools in the section below.

特色工具:搅拌率计算器

Customer Churn Rate Calculator from HubSpot

Download it now for free and follow along to determine your own business' churn and retention rates

HubSpot's客户服务指标Calculatorcalculates both revenue churn and customer retention rate, in addition to eight other imperative customer success metrics. If you want to determine your churn rate manually, read on for an explanation and example of calculating this metric.

Remember, the steps to calculate churn rate are:

  1. Determine a time period: monthly, annual, or quarterly.
  2. Determine the number of customers you had at the beginning of the time period.
  3. 确定在时间段结束前搅动的客户数量。
  4. Divide the number of lost customers by the number of customers you had prior to the churn.
  5. Multiply that number by 100.

As an example, let's say your software company had500 customersat the beginning of last quarter.

However, you also lost50个客户due to expired contracts and a few poor customer service interactions.

This would mean your quarter's customer churn rate would be the 50 churned customers divided by the 500 former customers, and 50 divided by 500 is 0.10.

Multiplied by 100, this gives you a customer churn rate of 10%.

Here's how it looks when you do the math out:

  • 客户流失率=(丢失的客户÷在开始时的总客户)x 100
  • 客户流失率=(50÷500)x 100
  • Customer Churn Rate = (0.10) x 100
  • Customer Churn Rate = 10%

Now that you've found out what your churn rate is, you're probably wondering what you should do next — especially if your churn rate is high. Take a look at the next section for some best practices that can help you decrease churn at your business.

Steps to Take After Calculating Churn Rate

您的流失率很高吗?您可以实施几种策略来减少它。如果您不积极地降低流失率,那么您的公司可能会长期受苦。bob全站app

1.分析流失以改善您的客户服务团队。

Despite your best efforts, customer churn will happen and when it does, use it as an opportunity to dig into what led the customer to leave, and what you can do to prevent a similar customer from churning for the same reason.

一个关键步骤是跟踪你的生产和retention rates. You can do this with HubSpot's客户服务指标Calculator— a free tool to calculate and document your retention rate over time.

You can use instances of churn to dig into individual customer support rep or manager performance, analyze your product or service against competitors, or identify challenges in the customer experience that you want to remedy with the help of your product and development teams.

2. Revamp your onboarding plan for new customers.

You can work to prevent customer churn from the moment someone becomes a customer by creating a robust new onboarding process. Use a new customerwelcome emailand offer dedicated 1:1 and onlinecustomer onboarding。You can also create educational content on your blog, social media, and video channels to instruct customers and show them how to get optimal value from your product or service.

Download our free customer onboarding templates and get a customer intake form, a welcome packet, and more.

3. Invest in more training for support and sales reps.

Sales reps should be selling the true value of your product or service so customers don't feel swindled. Additionally, customer support employees should be well-equipped to manage any issue that comes their way to secure customer satisfaction. Investing in processes and resources for these two departments can have a drastic impact on churn rate.

Download our free support training template to build a thorough training and onboarding plan for your new support hires

4. Ask for feedback at key moments — and respond promptly.

确保您一直在客户体验的关键时刻寻求客户反馈。如果您已经确定了如果客户每15天不登录您的工具,他们可能会流失,请在第10天左右向他们寻求反馈,并尝试重新接触他们。

If they hit a milestone using your product or service, ask them for feedback after that moment. Figure out the key moments that make or break a happy customer and ask for feedback at those touchpoints to strengthen the relationship.

Sometimes, customer feedback comes in the form of negative customer reviews — in which case you’ll want to respond promptly and appropriately.

Download our free review response templates to respond to negative reviews appropriately and increase your chances of retaining and delighting that customer

5.主动与客户进行沟通。

通过与客户进行积极的沟通来与您的客户建立融洽的关系,以便他们将您视为值得信赖的合作伙伴。定期与您认为他们会发现有趣或有用的内容联系,并在社交媒体上与他们联系并与他们互动,并在产品方面出现问题或中断,以便他们知道他们可以依靠您。

6. Offer exclusive perks to existing customers.

为了防止进一步的流失,您可以为当前客户提供特权。虽然您可能会制定奖励计划,但这更适合零售业务。相反,您可以偶尔选择个性化的接触点,例如亲自咖啡聊天或个人访问他们的办公室。

如果您的业务很小,您还可以让CEO亲自与现有客户联系,以了解他们的情况。这也是获得反馈的绝佳机会。忙碌的客户可能不会进行调查,但是如果首席执行官问他们是否有任何评论,则客户可能更有可能做出回应。

7.利用免费试用客户的反馈。

直到客户离开业务后,您才会失去收入。但是,如果有人在免费试用后不购买您的产品,则可以将其视为流失 - 隐喻地说。

对那些在免费试用后未购买产品的人进行调查。已经离开业务的客户可能不会回答有关您的产品的许多问题,或者为什么它不适合他们。接受免费试用且最终没有进行购买的人会期待调查链接。他们与您的业务几乎没有互动,因此他们更有可能坦率。

Use this feedback to improve your product and learn what makes customers “churn” before they even become a paying subscriber.

将这些技巧与客户保留策略to lower churn rate.

现在,您可能想知道:对于真实的公司而言,现实生活中的流失率是什么样的?让我们看一些著名的例子。

搅拌率的例子

Many SaaS companies, specifically in the B2C space, publish their churn rates to show how well they retain customers. Use these examples to guide your understanding of your own churn rate — what it should look like for your business and where some famous companies lie on the spectrum.

Netflix:2.5%的每月流失率

Netflix has one of the lowest churn rates in the video streaming industry. Its monthly churn rate is strikingly low at2.5%,这意味着超过97%的客户选择to stay with Netflix. Causes may include its expansive catalog of shows and its well-established brand voice.

迪士尼+: 4.3% Monthly Churn Rate

Disney has always avoided being part of other streaming services, and it launched its own service to distribute its shows online. Users flocked upon the release of Disney+ in 2019, and not many have left. It’s therefore no surprise that Disney+’s monthly churn rate is at a low4.3%

Spotify: 4.8% Monthly Churn Rate

Spotify is a popular music streaming service that’s known for its personalized recommendations and expansive music library. It has a reported churn rate of4.8%

Hulu:5.2%的每月流失率

Hulu是Netflix的主要竞争对手之一。它以其独家电视节目而闻名,在视频流媒体行业拥有20%的市场份额,5.2%客户流失率。

Peloton: 8% Yearly Churn Rate

Peloton has a8%yearly churn rate. The exercise equipment and fitness subscription company may enjoy a 92% retention rate for being the first in-home cycling fitness subscription. Its status as the first of its kind has cemented its subscriber base.

广告obe: 10% Yearly Churn Rate

According to Rob Giglio, former Vice President of Adobe’s Digital Media, Adobe has less than a10%yearly churn rate and over a 90% customer retention rate.

Apple TV+:15.6%的每月流失率

Apple TV+’s monthly churn rate is at15.6%。一些媒体报告说,它高20%。A tech journalist called it the “most unloved”苹果平台。其他has argued that its catalog is “tiny” and that the content is largely non-original, which may be the reason why its churn rate is higher compared to its competitors.

在所有这些示例中,可能很难确定良好的搅拌速率的外观。

What is a good churn rate?

A good or “acceptable” churn rate is from 2% to 8%, especially for B2C SaaS businesses that offer self-serve solutions. The lower, the better, or it can significantly impact your Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR). For B2B SaaS businesses with high average contract values (greater than $1,000 per month), churn rate should be below 2%.

Below, we cover more questions you may have about churn rate.

What is annual churn rate?

Annual churn rate refers to the percentage of customers lost over the course of a year. To calculate annual churn rate, you would look at the number of customers you had at the beginning of the year, then look at the number you had at the end of the year.

减去这两个数字。之后,将其除以您在今年年初的客户数量,然后乘以100。

What is monthly churn rate?

Monthly churn rate refers to the percentage of customers lost over the course of a month. To calculate monthly churn rate, divide the number of customers you lost over the month by the number of customers you had at the beginning of the month. Multiply the result by 100.

How can I track churn?

Tracking churn over time can be done in a number of ways. You can keep a spreadsheet with your findings and visualize it using the spreadsheet’s built-in data visualization tool. You can also use a dedicated报告仪表板软件,例如HubSpotbob电竞官方下载to automatically calculate and track churn.

损耗和流失有什么区别?

Customer attrition is the same as customer churn. It’s also referred to as customer turnover and customer defection.

Calculate Churn Rate to Reduce Customer Turnover

计算流失率似乎是一项不愉快的任务,但是跟踪它至关重要,以了解客户服务级别上可能出了什么问题。计算一年或一个月的客户流失率,改善客户服务系统,投资于客户服务代表,并观察您的流失率呈指数降低。

Editor's note: This post was originally published in January 2018 and has been updated for comprehensiveness.

customer service metrics

客户服务指标

Originally published Jun 7, 2021 5:00:00 PM, updated June 15 2021

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客户保留 Ticketing System